martes, 30 de noviembre de 2010

A Rotterdam November - A Rotterdam November (2008)

We're in a musical era where the independent musician has a much easier time getting known. One such example is a band called A Rotterdam November. The Boise, Idaho, rock band released their self-titled debut in 2008, and fans have still stuck with them, waiting for a new release. What got these fans hooked is the sounds of A Rotterdam November, an album chock full of rock ballads and edgy, yet radio friendly, power pop.

The thing about A Rotterdam November and their debut is that it's more enjoyable than anything else. Granted, they're a talented bunch, but thus far, it seems as though their music leans more toward accessibility and pop friendliness than authentic quality, bearing a sound like any number of radio pop punk bands. The first actual song, "City Without A Heart," seems slightly similar to the way Hillsong United opens most of their albums, yet with a little more rock flair. The rock keeps up into "Fight," reminding one of the band Eye Alaska, utilizing a pop rock-flavored hook that is legitimately addicting. They do a decent job with other upbeat songs, like "Crippling Machine" (which uses a disco beat in the chorus with high pitched guitars on top) and "Breaking For You" (incorporating some piano to give somewhat of a Something Corporate feel to the song). A Rotterdam November also seem to be no strangers to the pop ballad, such as "Trainwreck" and the acoustic-driven "Unraveling of a Tragedy," the latter of which is a call to God for redemption and features a string section to add to the melancholy feel of the song.

Track list:
01. Blitzkrieg – 0:43
02. City Without A Heart – 2:32
03. Fight – 3:20
04. Trainwreck – 4:25
05. Crippling Machine – 3:19
06. Casualties – 4:17
07. Breaking For You – 2:45
08. 1914 – 4:09
09. Unraveling Of a Tragedy – 3:14
10. Prelude To The End – 0:32
11. Enough (The End) – 2:53

link de descarga:

No hay comentarios: